Reiki Lineage

DR. MIKAO USUIReiki Lineage begins with the Japanese Buddhist monk and scholar, Dr. Mikao Usui who founded the modern Reiki method in 1922. He discovered the method after 21 days of fasting and meditation in solitude on the mountain top of Mount Kurama. He was a scholar of  interest in the healing abilities of many traditional saints from all over the world including Jesus and many Hindu and Vedic Saints.

When you become initiated as a Reiki Master, you become part of a lineage. Every Reiki Master has a lineage, and mine is of traditional Usui Reiki, which means it goes back to Dr. Mikao Usui.

Reiki lineage refers to the line of Reiki Masters that leads to the student. For traditional Reiki the line begins with Dr. Usui, and continues with one of his Reiki Masters, and then to one of theirs and so it continues.

The Usui Reiki Lineage of Reiki Master David Finestone:

    • Grand Master Dr. Mikao Usui
    • Grand Master Dr. Chujiro Hayashi
    • Grand Master Hawayo Takata
    • Master Beth Gray               (Grand Master Phyllis Lei Furumoto)
    • Master Fay Smith               (Master Anita Levin)
    • Rev. Master Donalda Loucks     
    • David Finestone


Just as an interesting aside, I have equal distance in Kabbalistic Lineage from my Great, Great, Great Grandfather, Beis HaLevi – Rabbi Yosef Dov Soloveitchik.